Our fearless leader has been elected as a 2021 AAAS Fellow, one of nine from the University of Chicago this year! The AAAS elected him for his “distinguished contribution to the field of vertebrate paleontology, particularly for original studies on phylogenies and morphological evolution of jawed vertebrates, and on evolution of tetrapods from lobe-finned ancestry.” Indeed, one cannot write a fin-to-limb paper without sprinkling in some Coates 1994 or Coates 2003!